March 16 – Step 5 : Ouarzazate – Ouarzazate (240 km / 3 ERR)

This 5th stage of Morocco Classic consisted of a loop, the second of the rally, articulated around Ouarzazate with the Berber Palace in high point.

The competitors will have traveled just over 200km in the heart of this region shaped between the Oued Ouarzazate and the Oued Dades feeding the lake of the city of cinema.

The unprecedented route in this direction began this morning by Tizi N Bachkoum, who hosted the first stage of the day, in the opposite direction to the day before to rally Tazenakht. As evoked, this collar offers all the rudiments of driving in rally with pins, faster passages and strong supports. A real treat for the crew JM.SCHARF – C.SCHARF (FORD MUSTANG) who takes the first place Classic category. The Prestige category is dominated by the TOTAL crew (Maserati Gran Cabrio).

Once in the city of Berber carpets, Tazenakht, the rally has taken a road abandoned for many years to reach Agdz along the banks of the Oued Draa. Second highlight this morning: the special stage drawn a few cables from the mine of Bouazzer where is extracted the major part of the Moroccan Cobalt. Nicknamed Pipe Special a few years ago, this test runs along a pipe of water following the curves of the surrounding mountains and allowing the mine to feed on the water needed to extract the precious.

The road, restored, offered a challenge while climbing for the aficionados of the regularity with turns and many changes of rhythm. A scenario that perfectly suited the Classic Austin Healey of B.SIAU – L.FAUQUETTE who, like JM.SCHARF – C.SCHARF earlier in the morning, won their first victory over this 24th Morocco Classic. Unsurprisingly, the TOTAL crew is once again winning the Prestige event.

From the end of the special, the connection to Agdz offered the participants desert and uninhabited scenery that Cyril particularly appreciates, and totally in the image of this Morocco south of the Atlas!

Once in Adgz, the road led the competitors to Ouarzazate by National Road 9, heading towards a final stage, well known to the regulars of the rally, the Tizi N Tiniffift. A sacred monster of Morocco Classic with its 15km very demanding and which turn incessantly. All the ascent and part of the descent imposed a constant rhythm to the competitors. In this game, the experience of the crew D.COURTENS – E.COURTENS (PORSCHE 911 CARRERA), winner of the 2016 edition of the Rally, made the difference, the first place is theirs. On the Prestige side, the AIN IFRANE crew (Toyota Prius Hybrid) wins the victory on this last event of the day.

Once the special stage was over, the 30 km link to Ouarzazate was only a formality to enjoy a well-deserved lunch at the edges of the Berbère Palace pool. This afternoon was devoted to the visit of the city, to the care provided by the Spa of the hotel or even to the most complete rest in this cocoon that has always welcomed us in Ouarzazate.

Once the special stage was over, the 30 km link to Ouarzazate was only a formality to enjoy a well-deserved lunch at the edges of the Berbère Palace pool. This afternoon was devoted to the visit of the city, to the care provided by the Spa of the hotel or even to the most complete rest in this cocoon that has always welcomed us in Ouarzazate.

Tonight, competitors meet for a gastronomic dinner at the Berber Palace Lounge Bar. Tomorrow, the penultimate stage will lead the caravan of the rally towards Marrakech!

General Ranking

Classic category
1 – C.GHITELINCK – L.DAVID (Mercedes Coupé 350)
2 – D.COURTENS – E.COURTENS (Porsche 911 Carrera)
3 – JM.ARLAUD – MF.ARLAUD (Citroën DS 21)

Prestige category
1 – Equipage TOTAL (Maserati Gran Cabrio)
2 – Equipage AIN IFRANE (Toyota Prius Hybrid)
3 – C.VERZELE – J.IDE (Bentley Continental GTC)

[cml_media_alt id='1361']carte[/cml_media_alt]

Posted in Actualités.

Jeudi 16 mars Etape 5 : Ouarzazate – Ouarzazate (240 km – 3 ERR)

Cette 5ème étape du Maroc Classic consistait en une boucle, la deuxième du rallye, articulée autour de Ouarzazate avec le Berbère Palace en point d’orgue.

Les concurrents n’auront parcouru qu’un peu plus de 200km au coeur de cette région façonnée entre l’Oued Ouarzazate et l’Oued Dades alimentant le lac de la cité du cinéma.

Le tracé inédit dans ce sens débutait ce matin par le Tizi N Bachkoum, qui accueillait la première spéciale de la journée, dans le sens opposé à la veille afin de rallier Tazenakht. Comme évoqué, ce col propose tous les rudiments de la conduite en rallye avec des épingles, des passages plus rapides et de forts appuis. Un vrai régal pour l’équipage JM.SCHARF – C.SCHARF (FORD MUSTANG) qui prend la première place catégorie Classic. La catégorie Prestige est dominée par l’équipage TOTAL (Maserati Gran Cabrio).

Une fois arrivé dans la cité des tapis berbère, Tazenakht, le rallye a emprunté une route délaissée depuis de nombreuses années pour rejoindre Agdz au bord des rives de l’Oued Draa. Second moment fort ce matin : la spéciale tracée à quelques encablures de la mine de Bouazzer où est extrait la majeure partie du Cobalt marocain. Surnommée spéciale de la Tuyauterie il y a quelques années, cette épreuve longe en effet un tuyau d’eau suivant les courbes des montagnes environnantes et permettant à la mine de s’alimenter de l’eau nécessaire à l’extraction du précieux minerais.

La route, restaurée, proposait un challenge tout en montée pour les aficionados de la régularité avec des virages et de nombreux changements de rythme. Un scénario qui a parfaitement convenu la Classic Austin Healey de B.SIAU – L.FAUQUETTE qui, tout comme JM.SCHARF – C.SCHARF plus tôt dans la matinée, remportent leur première victoire sur ce 24ème Maroc Classic. Sans surprise, l’équipage TOTAL sort à nouveau vainqueur de l’épreuve en Prestige.

Dès la fin de la spéciale, la liaison vers Agdz a offert aux participants des décors désertiques et inhabités que Cyril apprécie particulièrement, et totalement à l’image de ce Maroc au sud de l’Atlas !

Une fois à Adgz, la route a mené les concurrents vers Ouarzazate par la route Nationale 9, en direction d’une ultime spéciale, bien connue des habitués du rallye, le Tizi N Tiniffift. Un monstre sacré du Maroc Classic avec ses 15km très exigeants et qui tournent sans cesses. Toute l’ascension et une partie de la descente ont imposé un rythme soutenu aux concurrents.
A ce jeu là, l’expérience de l’équipage D.COURTENS – E.COURTENS (PORSCHE 911 CARRERA), vainqueur de l’édition 2016 du Rallye, a fait la différence, la première place leur revient. Côté Prestige, l’équipage AIN IFRANE (Toyota Prius Hybrid) décroche la victoire sur cette dernière épreuve de la journée.

Une fois la spéciale terminée, la liaison de 30 km vers Ouarzazate n’était plus qu’une formalité pour profiter d’un déjeuner bien mérité aux bords de la piscine du Berbère Palace. Cet après-midi était consacré à la visite de la ville, aux soins prodigués par le Spa de l’hôtel ou encore au repos le plus complet dans ce cocon qui nous accueille depuis toujours à Ouarzazate.

Une fois la spéciale terminée, la liaison de 30 km vers Ouarzazate n’était plus qu’une formalité pour profiter d’un déjeuner bien mérité aux bords de la piscine du Berbère Palace. Cet après-midi était consacré à la visite de la ville, aux soins prodigués par le Spa de l’hôtel ou encore au repos le plus complet dans ce cocon qui nous accueille depuis toujours à Ouarzazate.

Ce soir, les concurrents se retrouvent pour un dîner gastronomique au Lounge Bar du Berbère Palace. Demain, l’avant dernière étape mènera la caravane du rallye en direction de Marrakech !

Classement général provisoire


Catégorie Classics
1 – C.GHITELINCK – L.DAVID (Mercedes Coupé 350)
2 – D.COURTENS – E.COURTENS (Porsche 911 Carrera)
3 – JM.ARLAUD – MF.ARLAUD (Citroën DS 21)

Catégorie Prestiges
1 – Equipage TOTAL (Maserati Gran Cabrio)
2 – Equipage AIN IFRANE (Toyota Prius Hybrid)
3 – C.VERZELE – J.IDE (Bentley Continental GTC)

[cml_media_alt id='1361']carte[/cml_media_alt]

Posted in Actualités.