STAGE 4: IFRANE – MIDELT – MERZOUGA – WEDNESDAY MARCH 14, 2018

STAGE 4: IFRANE – MIDELT – MERZOUGA
WEDNESDAY MARCH 14, 2018

Time travel ! After a night spent at the foot of the sand dunes, the competitors took the road for the longest stage of the rally. With an anniversary edition limited to 30 crews, the organization made the choice to join MERZOUGA to the BIN EL OUIDANE Lake, which is making its come back to the program of the Morocco Classic 2018. To achieve this, it was necessary to go back to the North and cross the HIGH-ATLAS and mountain passes at more than 2500 meters of altitude.

The course could seem long but the pace has accelerated once crossed RISSANI then bifurcated to the West to cover the straight lines of the Moroccan desert bordered by JBEL SAGHO and JBEL OUGNAT, its breathtaking landscapes, its fossils…

After passing TINGHIR, the caravan of the rally has left in front of it the route usually leading to Ouarzazate and going to the GORGES DU TODRA. The swept road of the last bad weather allowed the holding of a special stage with a departure just after the always beautiful passage at the narrowest point of these narrow gorges dominated by gigantic ocher cliffs. A special quick enough to mark the entry point into a step that was becoming more and more winding as the day progressed.

These 5km will have benefited the crew E. MESTDAGH – S. JADOT (AC Bristol) who takes the first place in the category Classic. On the Prestige side, it is the crew Mr. COVAREL – C. MORARD who wins the palm.

At TAMTATOUCHTE, the rally entered Berber land. The « time travelling » journey began in the heart of these lands of the country AIT MORRHAD. Classics & Prestige cars have taken the direction of IMILCHIL at the intersection of the 3 roads at AIT HANI and the two passes over 2500m that allow its access.

The road, formerly track, was a famous event of the rally of Morocco, a long time ago, given at the beginning of Rich, where we passed the day before. An adventure. It was therefore necessary to launch an attack on TIZI N TIRHERHOUZINE, especially of course. A beautiful and wide road, with impeccable covering.

As a reflection of the day’s stage, the ERR 16, very different from the previous ERR, crowns the FORD MUSTANG driven by A.RAYNAL & C.FIGARET for the Classic category. The Prestiges see the crew B. OUVIER – J. OUVIER (Dodge Viper) take the first place on the event.

The finish was at the top of this first pass, the course then taking it to the second pass. The road snaked along the meanders of the wadi’s bed, also receiving the snowmelt. The crop is present on each plot, carefully worked, by hand and with the help of cattle. It was 8 years since the rally had not taken this route to get to the lunch organized under the khaimas (Berber tents) at Lake Tislit IMILCHIL.

After the gastronomic break with the feet in the water, the afternoon led the participants to BIN EL OUIDANE by a winding road, not always in excellent condition when crossing the villages. The decor is immaculate and the look is swept away by the beauty of the neighboring landforms. A third special stage, sinuous too, took place before the final tipping towards the lake, in an environment of red soils and cacti of all kinds.

The ERR of the day will have decidedly well rebuffed the cards, in Prestige as in Classic. For the latter, the P. LEVIE – P. DEWOLF crew (BMW 1600 CABRIOLET) wins their first race on this 2018 Rally. In the Prestige category, the LUCCHITTI & A. FORTE in MERCEDES AMG Coupé top the list.

The passage of an old metal bridge will have given the rally the appearance of a raid time for a photo.

The ERR 18, the last ERR of the day, is no exception to the rule and shakes the rankings of the previous days. In Classic, the crew E. MESTDAGH – S. JADOT (AC Bristol) continue their ascent in the classification. Prestige category, P. LUCCHITTI & A. FORTE are the winners of the event (MERCEDES AMG Coupé). For the Classics as for the Prestiges, on the eve of the arrival at MARRAKECH, the competition is relaunched!

Finally, the BIN EL OUIDANE lake has appeared. Cashed in the hollow of the mountains, majestic with all these reflections of colors, whatever the season. The HOTEL WIDIANE and its thirty rooms welcomes the caravan of the rally for the evening and the night. The magnificent property overlooking the lake offers breathtaking 180-degree views of the expanse of water.
Tomorrow, the last stage of this grandiose 25th Rally Morocco Classic with an official arrival organized in LA MAMOUNIA, in Marrakech.

Classement général provisoire / Temporary General Ranking

Classics Category 1- R. MEZIANE / Z. CHEMAO (Porsche Targa) 2- JM. ARLAUD / MF. ARLAUD (Citroën DS 21) 3- C. GHISTELINCK – L. DAVID (MERCEDEZ 280 SE)
Prestige Category 1- B. OUVIER / J. OUVIER (Dodge Viper) 2- P. LUCCHITTI / A. FORTE (MERCEDES AMG Coupé) 3- M. COVAREL / C. MORARD (Mercedes SL55 AMG)
Download the General Classic Ranking Download the General Prestige Ranking
Posted in Actualités.

Jeudi 15 mars : 5eme Etape – MERZOUGA – Imilchil – BIN EL OUIDANE

Jeudi 15 mars : 5eme Etape
MERZOUGA – Imilchil – BIN EL OUIDANE (445 km / 4 ERR)

Voyage dans le temps ! Après une nuit passée aux pieds des dunes de sables, Les concurrents ont pris la route pour la plus longue étape du rallye. Avec une édition anniversaire limitée à 30 équipages, l’organisation a fait le choix de rejoindre MERZOUGA au Lac de BIN EL OUIDANE qui fait son grand retour au programme du Maroc Classic 2018. Pour y parvenir, il fallait donc remonter au Nord et franchir le HAUT-ATLAS et des cols à plus de 2500 mètres d’altitude.

Le parcours pouvait sembler long mais le rythme s’est accéléré une fois traversé RISSANI puis bifurqué vers l’Ouest pour parcourir les lignes droites du désert marocain bordé du JBEL SAGHO et du JBEL OUGNAT, ses paysages à couper le souffle, ses fossiles, ses puits…

Après avoir passé TINGHIR, la caravane du rallye a laissé devant elle l’itinéraire menant habituellement à Ouarzazate et se rendre dans les GORGES DU TODRA. La route balayée des dernières intempéries permettait la tenue d’une spéciale avec un départ donné juste après le passage toujours magnifique au point le plus étroit de ces gorges étroites dominées de gigantesques falaises ocres. Une spéciale plutôt rapide pour marquer le point d’entrée dans une étape qui s’annonçait de plus en plus sinueuse au fur et à mesure de la journée.

Ces 5km auront profités à l’équipage E. MESTDAGH – S. JADOT (AC Bristol) qui prend la première place du classement du jour dans la catégorie Classic. Côté Prestige, c’est l’équipage M. COVAREL – C. MORARD qui emporte la palme.

A TAMTATOUCHTE, le rallye entrait en terre berbère. Le voyage dans le temps débutait alors au coeur de ces terres du pays des AIT MORRHAD. Classics & Prestiges ont pris, au croisement des 3 routes à AIT HANI, la direction d’IMILCHIL et des deux cols à plus de 2500m qui en permet l’accès.

La route, autrefois piste, était une épreuve célèbre du rallye du Maroc, il y a bien longtemps, donné au départ de Rich, où nous sommes passés la veille. Toute une aventure. Il aura donc fallu se lancer à l’assaut du TIZI N TIRHERHOUZINE, en spéciale bien sûr. Une route belle et large, au revêtement impeccable.

Comme un reflet de l’étape du jour, l’ERR 16, très différente de la précédente épreuve, couronne la FORD MUSTANG emmenée par A.RAYNAL & C.FIGARET pour la catégorie Classic. Les Prestiges voient l’équipage B. OUVIER – J. OUVIER (Dodge Viper) prendre la première place sur l’épreuve.

L’arrivée était donnée au sommet de ce premier col, le parcours l’emmenant ensuite vers le second col. La route serpentait selon les méandres du lit de l’oued recevant aussi les fontes des neiges. La culture est présente sur chaque parcelle, minutieusement travaillée, à la main et à l’aide du bétail. Cela faisait 8 années que le rallye n’avait pas emprunté cet itinéraire pour se rendre au déjeuner organisé sous les khaimas (tentes berbères) au Lac Tislit d’IMILCHIL.

Après cette pause gastronomique les pieds dans l’eau, l’après-midi dirigeait les participants vers BIN EL OUIDANE par une route sinueuse, pas toujours en excellent état au moment de traverser les villages.

Le décor est immaculé et le regard est emporté par la beauté des reliefs voisins. Une troisième épreuve spéciale, sinueuse elle aussi, eu lieu avant la bascule finale vers le lac, dans un environnement de terres rouges et de cactées en tout genre.

Les ERR du jour auront décidément bien rebattues les cartes, en Prestige comme en Classic. Chez ces dernières, l’équipage P. LEVIE – P. DEWOLF (BMW 1600 CABRIOLET) emporte leur première épreuve sur ce Rallye 2018. En catégorie Prestige, ce sont P. LUCCHITTI & A. FORTE en MERCEDES AMG Coupé qui arrivent en tête.

Le passage d’un pont métallique ancien aura donné au rallye des allures de raid le temps d’une photo.

L’ERR 18, dernière épreuve de la journée, ne déroge pas à la règle et bouscule les classements des jours précédents. En Classic, l’équipage E. MESTDAGH – S. JADOT (AC Bristol) poursuivent leur remontée dans le classement. Catégorie Prestige, P. LUCCHITTI & A. FORTE sortent vainqueurs de l’épreuve (MERCEDES AMG Coupé). Pour les Classics comme pour les Prestiges, à la veille de l’arrivée à MARRAKECH, la compétition est relancée !

Enfin le Lac de BIN EL OUIDANE a fait son apparition. Encaissé au creux des montagnes, majestueux avec tous ces reflets de couleurs, quelle que soit la saison. L’HÖTEL WIDIANE et sa trentaine de chambres accueille la caravane du rallye pour la soirée et la nuit. Le magnifique établissement surplombant le lac offre une vue imprenable à 180 degrés sur l’étendue d’eau.
Demain, dernière étape de ce grandiose 25ème Rallye Maroc Classic avec une arrivée officielle organisée à LA MAMOUNIA, à Marrakech.


Classement général provisoire / Temporary Ranking Classic

Catégorie Classics
1- R. MEZIANE / Z. CHEMAO (Porsche Targa)
2- JM. ARLAUD / MF. ARLAUD (Citroën DS 21)
3- C. GHISTELINCK – L. DAVID (MERCEDEZ 280 SE)
Catégorie Prestiges
1- B. OUVIER / J. OUVIER (Dodge Viper)
2- P. LUCCHITTI / A. FORTE (MERCEDES AMG Coupé)
3- M. COVAREL / C. MORARD (Mercedes SL55 AMG)
Télécharger le classement général Classic au 15 mars 2018 Télécharger le classement général Prestige au 15 mars 2018
Posted in Actualités.