March 15 – Step 4 : Agadir – Ouarzazate (490 km / 3 ERR)

After two evenings at SOFITEL, it was time for this 24th Morocco Classic Rally to leave AGADIR. After leaving the city, after a few hundred meters to cross a small village, the competitors join the “old” and narrow road of Marrakech.

Verdicts of this first special on this small road rough and swirling: Category Classic, the event is won by the crew E.WIEDERIN-A.HÖFER aboard their PORSCHE 356A; On the Prestige side, the Toyota Prius Hybrid led by the AIN IFRANE crew takes the lead of the day.

The Rally continued towards Argana before leaving the main road on the right to climb the slopes of the mountain. It was here that the starting line of the second stage was fixed. The climbing event will have benefited C.FIGARET-A.RAYNAL at the wheel of their AC Cobra, victim of a mechanical incident during the stage of yesterday … Winners of this 13th Prestige ERR: the crew AIN IFRANE!

The region of Argana is little inhabited and only a few goats and their shepherds have come to disrupt the progress of the participants. Not a car on the horizon … Magnificent and mysterious landscapes, which blend harmoniously with the presence of men, wild flora and imposing rocks. A caravan has finally joined the great plain of Souss, direction Taroudant, the small Marrakech of the south, by a large flat and flat road. La Gazelle d’Or did not welcome us this year. The doors are definitely closed … So it was in Dar Zitoune that the competitors found themselves around a gourmet lunch.

After this halt, a great connection awaited the competitors to join the capital of saffron, Taliouine, then Tazenakht the capital of the carpet … A well known stretch and again greatly appreciated this year. Average speeds increased as the Rally approached Ouarzazate, facing the High Atlas!

Starting from Tazenakht, the last special stage, set in the Tizi N Bachkoum, on a very beautiful road, brought together all the ingredients for the pleasure of the competitors: a wide track, impeccable tar, climbs and descents succeeding each other in a rhythm Endiablé. 11.9 km of a fast-paced event which sees the crew R.CEREZO-JR.CEREZO (JAGUAR XK 140) win its first victory this year; On the Prestige side, the cards are rebuffed: the Bentley Continental GTC of C.VERZELE – J.IDE returns to the first place!

The WIEDERIN-HOEFER crew was less fortunate in this event: an electrical failure of the Porsche 356A cut the power supply of the Trip Master in full special. To save his good position in the standings, the crew burns his joker today!

Finally, as every year, Ouarzazate and the Berbère Palace were waiting for the 24th Rally Maroc Maroc for two nights, in order to make the most of the time spent in these enchanting places. In the program of the evening: the raffle to the benefit of the partner association Heure Joyeuse will bring together the competitors around the many prizes to win.

Tomorrow, it will be a loop Ouarzazate – Ouarzazate, discovering the south of the Moroccan Atlas.

General Ranking

Classics Category
1 – C.GHITELINCK-L.DAVID (MERCEDES Coupé 350)
2 – JM.ARLAUD-MF.ARLAUD (CITROEN DS 21)
3 – E.WIEDERIN-A.HÖFER (PORSCHE 356A)

Prestiges Category
1 – Equipage TOTAL (Maserati Gran Cabrio)
2 – Equipage AIN IFRANE (Toyota Prius Hybrid)
3 – C.VERZELE – J.IDE (Bentley Continental GTC)

[cml_media_alt id='1361']carte[/cml_media_alt]

Posted in Actualités.

Mercredi 15 mars Etape 4 : Agadir – Ouarzazate (490 km – 3 ERR)

Après deux soirées passées au SOFITEL, il était temps pour ce 24ème Rallye Maroc Classic de quitter AGADIR. Dès la sortie de la ville, après quelques centaines de mètres pour traverser un petit village, les concurrents on rejoint la « vieille » et étroite route de Marrakech.

Verdicts de cette première spéciale sur cette petite route rugueuse et tournoyante : Catégorie Classic, l’épreuve est remportée par l’équipage E.WIEDERIN-A.HÖFER à bord de leur PORSCHE 356A ; côté Prestige, la Toyota Prius Hybrid emmenée par l’équipage AIN IFRANE prend la tête du classement du jour.

Le Rallye a continué en direction d’Argana avant de quitter la grande route par la droite pour gravir les flancs de la montagne. C’est ici qu’était fixé la ligne de départ de la deuxième spéciale. L’épreuve en montée aura profitée à C.FIGARET-A.RAYNAL au volant de leur AC Cobra, victime d’un incident mécanique lors de l’étape d’hier… Vainqueurs de cette 13ème ERR en Prestige : l’équipage AIN IFRANE !

La région d’Argana est peu habitée et seules quelques chèvres et leurs bergers sont venus perturber la progression des participants. Pas une voiture à l’horizon… Des paysages magnifiques et mystérieux, qui mêlent avec harmonie présence des hommes, flore sauvage et rochers imposants. a caravane a finalement rejoint la grande plaine du Souss, direction Taroudant, la petite Marrakech du sud, par une grande route rectiligne et plate. La Gazelle d’Or ne nous a pas accueillie cette année. Les portes sont définitivement closes… C’est donc au Dar Zitoune que les concurrents se sont retrouvés autour d’un déjeuner gastronomique.

Après cette halte, une grande liaison attendait les concurrents pour rejoindre la capitale du safran, Taliouine, puis Tazenakht la capitale du tapis… Un tronçon bien connu et a nouveau fortement apprécié cette année. Les vitesses moyennes ont augmenté au fur et à mesure que le Rallye approchait de Ouarzazate, face au Haut-Atlas !

Au départ de Tazenakht, la dernière spéciale, tracée dans le Tizi N Bachkoum, sur une très belle route, regroupait tous les ingrédients pour le plaisir des concurrents : une voie large, un goudron impeccable, des montées et descentes qui se succèdent dans un rythme endiablé. 11,9 km d’une épreuve rapide et joueuse qui voit l’équipage R.CEREZO-JR.CEREZO (JAGUAR XK 140) remporter sa première victoire cette année ; côté Prestige, les cartes sont rebattues : la Bentley Continental GTC de C.VERZELE – J.IDE renoue avec la première place !

L’équipage WIEDERIN-HOEFER aura eu moins de chance sur cette épreuve : une défaillance électrique de la Porsche 356A a coupé l’alimentation du Trip Master en pleine spéciale. Pour sauver sa bonne position au classement, l’équipage brûle son joker aujourd’hui !

Enfin, comme chaque année, Ouarzazate et le Berbère Palace attendaient le 24ème Rallye Maroc Classic pour deux nuits, afin de profiter au maximum du temps passé dans ces lieux enchanteurs. Au programme de la soirée : la tombola au profit de l’association partenaire l’Heure Joyeuse réunira les concurrents autour des nombreux lots à gagner.

Demain, ce sera donc une boucle Ouarzazate – Ouarzazate, à la découverte du sud de l’Atlas marocain.

Classement général provisoire


Catégorie Classics
1 – C.GHITELINCK-L.DAVID (MERCEDES Coupé 350)
2 – JM.ARLAUD-MF.ARLAUD (CITROEN DS 21)
3 – E.WIEDERIN-A.HÖFER (PORSCHE 356A)

Catégorie Prestiges
1 – Equipage TOTAL (Maserati Gran Cabrio)
2 – Equipage AIN IFRANE (Toyota Prius Hybrid)
3 – C.VERZELE – J.IDE (Bentley Continental GTC)

[cml_media_alt id='1361']carte[/cml_media_alt]

Posted in Actualités.